The last order date for Christmas delivery is Monday 6th December. remove

Barakah Beats

by Maleeha Siddiqui (author)

Book of the Month

Suitable for 12 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $11.40 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.40 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.28 to spend on books

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 2 ratings

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

A story about finding your voice and fitting in. 12-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic school, but is about to embark on middlel school and is feeling nervous. Nimra is desperate to fit in but finds the popular kids avoid her because of her hijab, and her best-friend Jenna isn’t the same at school. So when she is invited to join the school’s popular band, Nimra is unsure what to do. She has been taught that music isn’t allowed in Islam, but it is an opportunity to make new friends and win back the graces of her best-friend Jenna. What will Nimra do?

  • A junior Jenny Han
  • Perfect for fans of Netflix’s Julie and the Phantoms
  • Brilliantly-written, full of music, with a message of ‘fitting in’ at the heart of it

Praise for Barakah Beats: A Summer/Fall 2021 Indies Introduce Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection “Superb! Nimra is a joy to cheer for in a nuanced story that will leave readers thinking about how to navigate complex ethical choices” – Alex Gino, award-winning author of George“Equal parts fun and serious, Barakah Beats is a lovely story that will resonate with countless kids growing up between two cultures and faiths. Nimra is just the heroine middle-school readers are searching for”. – Saadia Faruqi, author of A Thousand Questions“Finally! A story about a young Muslim girl trying to fit in while also staying true to her values, beliefs, family, and culture. Sweet and relatable – I couldn’t put it down!”- Huda Fahmy, creator of Huda F Are You?“This book should come with a warning label – you won’t be able to stop reading once you start! I tumble-down fell in love.” – Wendy Wan-Long Shang, author of Not Your All-American Girl (co-authored with Madelyn Rosenberg) “This lively, heartfelt book hits all the right notes.” – Rajani LaRocca, author of Red, White, and Whole“If you love an irrepressible heroine and the story of underdogs stopping at nothing to be seen and heard, Barakah Beats is a must-read. The Muslim rep is beautiful and important—pure joy for any reader. The raucous rhythms of Nimra’s story bursts through from every page. I’m a Barakah Beats stan for life!” – Stephan Lee, author of K-Pop Confidential

Our December 2021 Ages 11+ Book of the Month

For those aged 11 and above, my November Book of the Month is Barakah Beats! It tells the story of 12-year-old Nimra Sharif, who has spent her whole life in Islamic school. But she’s nervous as she’s about to join middle school and is desperate to fit in. Sadly her best friend isn’t going to the same school, and the popular kids start to avoid her because of her hijab. So when she’s invited to join a popular band, Nimra is unsure what to do. Is this her opportunity to make new friends and fit in?

This is the first novel from debut author Maleeha Siddiqui, a first-generation Pakistani-American Muslim. Barakah Beats is based on her own experiences growing up in America as a young practicing Muslim. It’s a story about finding your voice and fitting in, without changing your values. Full of music and fun, it’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Netflix’s Julie and the Phantoms.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

376 in ROW Primary November 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702311024

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

October 7th, 2021

Other details

  • 288 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought