A Very Large Expanse of Sea

by Tahereh Mafi (author) (UK edition)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

usd prices
Price: $9.80 Switch to £
gbp prices
Save £1.24
Offer price: £6.75 Switch to $
RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $1.96 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Weepy, brave and oh-so-gorgeous! Teen life/love in the shadow of 9/11. Jihad. Terrorism. The Twin Towers burning. Who wants to talk about that all the time? Not Shirin. Trouble is, it’s 2002 and she’s Muslim. The spectre of 9/11 seems to be on everybody’s mind. Shirin is sick of it all. The stares. The stereotyping. The degrading comments about her race, religion and hijab. It’s always the same, even though she’s just moved to yet another high school. But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know her. It’s lovely – and scary. Shirin’s had her guard up for sooo long. Will she ever dare to let it down?

  • A heart-rending tale of love, prejudice and self-discovery
  • By the New York Times bestselling author of Shatter Me
  • Set in the politically turbulent time immediately after 9/11
  • Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and The Hate U Give

“This is a gorgeous book. It’s tender and fierce, beautiful even as it depicts some ugly truths. The prose is passionate and honest, unsentimental and big-hearted. The very best books move you to reconsider the world around you and this is one of those. I truly loved it.” Nicola Yoon

*Please note this book contains language more suitable for older readers.

Product Details

Catalogue number

986 in ROW Teen November 2018

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781405292603

Publisher

Electric Monkey

Date published

October 4th, 2018

Other details
  • 304 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought