All titles and prices are available for school purchase only. Please select an open school group order or school address for delivery. remove

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

usd prices
Price: $9.80 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £6.75 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $1.96 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Winner of the Costa Award! A glorious Amazon adventure by the author of Rooftoppers: massive snakes, ruined cities, deadly fun. From his seat in a tiny aeroplane, Fred watches the mysterious Amazon jungle pass by far below. He’s always dreamed of being an explorer. If only he could have a look! Then the plane crashes into the canopy. Suddenly, Fred’s dream is becoming way too real. He and the three other kids in the plane are still alive (so far), but the jungle is a huge and deadly wilderness. With no hope of rescue, their chance of survival is almost nil. Except, it seems, someone has been there before them…

  • A Costa Award winner by the author of Rooftoppers
  • Inspired by Eva Ibbotson’s Journey to the River Sea
  • For fans of Eva Ibbotson, Philip Pullman or Willard Price
  • High adventure full of courage, danger and wonder

“Katherine Rundell just gets better and better. I loved The Explorer. On one level it’s a very exciting adventure … but it’s also saying profound things about human nature and love and loss.’ Jacqueline Wilson

Product Details

Catalogue number

81 in ROW Teen May 2018 and 438 in ROW Primary May 2018

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781408882191

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Date published

January 4th, 2018

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.5; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details
  • 416 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought