All titles and prices are available for school purchase only. Please select an open school group order or school address for delivery. remove

Hurricane Child

by Kacen Callender (author)

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $10.45 Switch to £
gbp prices
Save £0.19
Offer price: £6.80 Switch to $
RRP: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.09 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Winner of the Stonewall Book Award and the Lambda Literary Award By National Book Award winner Kacen Callender, this exquisite novel reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways. “The stakes are high, the revelations are serious, and Callender doesn’t sugarcoat… But Caroline’s insistence on love, no matter what, might just be what young readers need to see.” – The New York Times Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child. Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately. She’s hated and bullied by everyone in her small school on St. Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, a spirit only she can see won’t stop following her, and – worst of all – Caroline’s mother left home one day and never came back. But when a new student named Kalinda arrives, Caroline’s luck begins to turn around. Kalinda, a solemn girl from Barbados with a special smile for everyone, becomes Caroline’s first and only friend—and the person for whom Caroline has begun to develop a crush. Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings for Kalinda, brave the spirit stalking her through the islands, and face the reason her mother abandoned her. Together, Caroline and Kalinda must set out in a hurricane to find Caroline’s missing mother—before Caroline loses her for ever.

  • Perfect for fans of Boy At the Back of the Class, Pocketful of Stars, and Rooftoppers.
  • This arresting debut novel won the Stonewall Book Award as well as the Lambda Literary Award.
  • From the author of bestselling Felix Ever After.
  • If you love this story, check out Kacen Callender’s National-Book-Award-winning King and the Dragonflies!

Our June 2021 Ages 11+ Book of the Month

For ages 11 and over, my June Book of the Month pick is Hurricane Child. In this book, Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child. Born during a hurricane, she is cursed with bad luck, hated and bullied by everyone in her school. Not only that, but a spirit only she can see won’t stop following her, and worst of all, Caroline’s mother left home one day and never came back. But Caroline’s luck begins to change in the form of new student Kalinda, becoming Caroline’s first and only friend, and her crush. Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings, brave the spirit stalking her and face the reason her mother abandoned her. Together, Caroline and Kalinda set out in a hurricane to find Caroline’s missing mother, before Caroline loses her for ever.

This exquisite novel from National Book Award winner Kacen Callender has already won both the Lambda Literary Award and the Stonewall Book Award in the US. Callender is Black and queer, and bravely and honestly addresses similar struggles they faced in this Own Voices novel. It’s perfect for fans of The Boy at the Back of the Class, A Pocketful of Stars and The Bone Sparrow. Although heartbreaking at points, it’s a truly important book that all young readers should experience, and reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

852 in ROW Primary September 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702310218

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

June 3rd, 2021

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.3; Middle years; 6.0 points

Other details

  • 240 pages

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Kacen Callender

Photo of Kacen Callender

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought