We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your school is closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

A Pocketful of Stars

by Aisha Bushby (author) (UK edition)

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

Part of the following pack:

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Can piecing together the past help you change the present?

When I next open my eyes, I’m back . . . in front of the house again. It’s night time. The stars wave hello, like they’ve been expecting me. The door of the house, Mum’s house, is wide open, like it expects me too. This time, I go inside . . .

Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming and Safiya doesn’t think they have anything in common. As Safiya struggles to fit in at school she wonders if her mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend Elle. But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange alternative world that looks a bit like one of her games. And there’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar . . .

A Pocketful of Stars is a story about family, friendship and finding out who you are . . . with a sprinkling of magic.

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Ross Welford and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave.

Aisha Bushby was selected as one of only four previously unpublished authors in the Stripes anthology for BAME writers, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award. A Pocketful of Stars is her debut novel.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781405293198

Publisher

Egmont Books Ltd

Date published

August 1st, 2019

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.7; Middle years; 7.0 points

Other details
  • 256 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought