All titles and prices are available for school purchase only. Please select an open school group order or school address for delivery. remove

usd prices
Price: $10.14 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £6.99 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.03 to spend on books

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Jacky’s first ever Second World War story! Home is where the heart is. But young evacuee Shirley doesn’t have a real home anymore… It’s 1939. The war has just started, and ten-year-old Shirley is being sent away on a train with her schoolmates. She doesn’t know where she’s going, or what’ll happen when she gets there. She’s just been told that she’s going on ‘a little holiday’. Soon Shirley ends up in the country, with two boys – Kevin and Archie – from the East End of London. But living in the eerie Red House, with the mysterious Mrs Waverley, is an experience that will change Shirley forever…

  • A stunning World War Two story from a beloved author
  • Brings the war alive in a tale of friendship and courage
  • For fans of Hetty Feather and Goodnight Mister Tom
  • Jacqueline Wilson has sold over 35 million books

Product Details

Catalogue number

5639 in Rewards Catalogue 2017/18 and 8189 in Secondary Rewards17/18

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780440871514

Publisher

Yearling (imprint of Random House Children's Books)

Date published

February 1st, 2018

Lexile measure

700L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Other details
  • 464 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Packs

Author/Illustrator

Jacqueline Wilson

24424 jacqueline wilson 1 206738

Nick Sharratt

4691 nick sharratt 1 206734

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought