All titles and prices are available for school purchase only. Please select an open school group order or school address for delivery. remove

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

2 reviews

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

“Grandad’s getting worse. Last night he could have killed us all…”

Alex’s beloved grandfather is sick. His memory is failing, and Alex’s parents want to put him in a home. Alex has promised Grandad that he won’t let that happen. But Alex has broken promises before. When he was growing up in the Bosnian War, he swore that he would protect his little brother. It was a promise he couldn’t keep. Alex can’t fail again. But what if the only way to save Grandad could shatter the family… and also tear Alex apart? A powerfully moving inter-generational tale of war, memory, love and loyalty, written in the vein of Michael Morpurgo and Michelle Magorian.

“Beautifully written and carefully conceived, The Memory Cage is an exceptional first novel.” Lancashire Evening Post

“A thoughtful story about confronting fears.” Books 4 Teens

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781407120522

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

January 3rd, 2011

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.1; Middle years plus; 7.0 points

Other details
  • 240 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

Add a review
  1. Robert
    on 20 January 2011

    The Memory Cage

    Exciting from start to finish. Thought provoking for weeks afterwards. Incredibly moving. This a wonderful, wonderful book and far too good for kids!

  2. Mim Waller
    on 19 January 2011

    Read this today!

    Ruth Eastham creates an inspiring story that is so believable, it hurts! You can feel Alex’s despair and frustration as he struggles to fit in to his adoptive family whilst trying to help his ailing grandfather. Alex’s search for the truth was always going to be painful, but the story is full of optimism and strength of character. I was totally gripped from start to finish, and read it in super-quick time, which is sad because I didn’t want it to end! More please!

Add a review

What kids think

  1. 39c logo fullcolor 113549

    AngelofDeath
    on 9 March 2014

    It was a good book but a bit said. I felt pity for Alex after so many things he had gone through but on the whole it was good

  2. Pearl 113298

    kittykrista106
    on 26 October 2011

    I like this book.I am sad for alex because of all of those things what happend to alex.I wa sreading this book in school with my english teacher.It’s sad book littel bit.I don’t won’t to have brother like Lenoerd and i don’t won’t live with not my real family.

    In school we have to write a dairy what happend to alex.We were the Alex.

    Those people who like books like that read this book. :) :) :) :) :)

    By Kristina 
    From Year 7
    4out of 5
  3. Default avatar

    jmpc
    on 3 March 2011

    If only Grandad’s memory was better, if only he didn’t keep doing dangerous stuff. These are the thoughts of Alex, the adopted child of the Smith family. In desperation to improve his Grandad’s memory and prevent him being sent to care home, he comes up with the idea of making a scrapbook of his Grandad’s life. He’s got a week to change his parents mind. The pace of the story turns up a notch in the latter half of the book. And as it became more intriguing I found it difficult to put down. With lots of help, Alex uncovers family secrets from his Grandad’s past during World War Two and at the same time facing up to his own. Alex, the hero of the story, as a special relationship with his Grandad and some of the conversations they have are very touching to read. With themes of mental illness, family secrets, grief and the terrible things it does to people, this book will appeal to a wide audience of children and adults alike.

    5out of 5
  4. Default avatar

    libby070401
    on 8 February 2011

    I really like this book. Great story and very intresting !!