All titles and prices are available for school purchase only. Please select an open school group order or school address for delivery. remove

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

It’s 1987, and Ira and Zac are being uprooted to Skilly House, a children’s home. It’s tough being a care kid, and Ira reckons that if life doesn’t get better (or at least more interesting) she’s going to start inventing witches and castles and stuff like that. But as it turns out, she doesn’t have to. Life gets exciting all by itself… Set against a turbulent 1980s background of social upheaval and poll tax riots, this is a sad yet hopeful tale of growing up and learning to believe in yourself.

  • A memorable and moving debut from a stellar new talent
  • A tale of growing up, making friends and finding a home
  • Published to huge acclaim from critics and the public
  • Ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Elizabeth Laird

“This remarkable debut novel reads as if written by an experienced children’s author at the height of her powers.” Sunday Times

A truly, truly, truly lovely story…. Uplifting and heartwarming without ever being twee.” Bookbag

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780857633996

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Date published

May 5th, 2016

Lexile measure

750L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.7; Middle years; 6.0 points

Other details
  • 208 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought