We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your school is closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

Suitable for 8 - 14 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 8 ratings

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Before he created the BFG or the Twits, Roald Dahl was… a boy. And the true story of his boyhood is as funny, wonderful and strange as any of the stories he wrote later! In his first much-loved memoir, Roald Dahl recounts his days as a child growing up in England. From early years as a prankster at boarding school to his enviable position as a young chocolate tester for Cadbury, this book is packed with lively anecdotes – sometimes funny, sometimes painful, but all utterly addictive and guaranteed to delight!

Also available: Read & Respond activities to accompany Boy.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141322766

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 6.0; Middle years; 6.0 points

Other details
  • 192 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Author/Illustrator

Roald Dahl

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Selinda769
    on 9 April 2016

    Roald Dahl was a clever and brave man. Did you iknow his nose fell of and it got put back together. Their car hit a rock and his nose fell off, weird right?

  2. bluepeter123456
    on 26 June 2015

    I remember reading this book in Year 6. It was interesting to learn about Roald Dahl’s childhood. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about Roald Dahl.

  3. Kittenlover6
    on 12 December 2014

    Two words UTTERLY AMAZING ;)

    5out of 5
  4. Potterfan7
    on 9 March 2014

    A good book which shows what it is like being born in the olden days. putting a dead mouse in the sweet jars maybe wasnt the greatest idea in the world. Well Roald Dahl probably learnt a lesson when rubbing savlon on his whip-marks…

  5. Book-Lover1234
    on 9 March 2014

    This book is okay. It is funny and you can learn a bit more about a very famous author but it wasn’t really the book for me.

  6. Spidergirl
    on 6 March 2014

    okay

    3out of 5
  7. magic-fairy
    on 5 March 2014

    Before he created the BFG or the Twits, Roald Dahl was… a boy. And the true story of his boyhood is as funny, wonderful and strange as any of the stories he wrote later! In his first much-loved memoir, Roald Dahl recounts his days as a child growing up in England. From early years as a prankster at boarding school to his enviable position as a young chocolate tester for Cadbury, this book is packed with lively anecdotes – sometimes funny, sometimes painful, but all utterly addictive and guaranteed to delight!

  8. HamishandAndy
    on 5 March 2014

    I think this is a really interesting book about the childhood of Roald Dahl. He is by far my favourite author and an insight to his childhood is pretty fun. His overly strict school and Dahl’s independent mindset is completely cringeworthy! Some parts of the book can get boring and random but the stories are absolutely funny. I don’t think this is a must read book.

    3out of 5
  9. Venera2
    on 4 March 2014

    Never an autobiography could be so entertaining and captivating. I highly recommend this book to all Roald Dahl fans.

    5out of 5
  10. aquamarinebamboo
    on 1 January 2014

    It was really funny and entertaining!

    4out of 5
  11. 10000madison
    on 18 October 2013

    good but not amazing

    3out of 5
  12. cuddlypear
    on 5 October 2013

    Wonderful like every other Roald Dahl book. The stories of his life are not at all like ours.

    5out of 5
  13. MagicalFairy41
    on 19 April 2013

    It Was COOL

    5out of 5
  14. rainbow2351
    on 29 March 2013

    I can relate to this book so much.It is a awesome book I recommend it to every one I know I have got the whole Roald Dahl series and this is one of my favourites.I would recommend reading this book 100%

  15. xxChocolateBoxGirlxx
    on 9 March 2013

    I found this book quite interesting.My English teacher read this book to me in class and I thought I had to read it.Perfect for people who love reading Roald Dahl`s fantastic books :P

    5out of 5
  16. Helloioioi
    on 8 March 2013

    i love the part about the dead mouse.

  17. natashakrywald
    on 7 March 2013

    very intersting

    2out of 5
  18. samcharlie123
    on 7 March 2013

    A book about Roald Dahl’s childhood.

    4out of 5
  19. rockstar101
    on 6 March 2013

    it was cool

    5out of 5
  20. ninjastickman
    on 5 March 2013

    This fantastic collection of stories and memories are brilliant. I love the great mouse plot!

    5out of 5
  21. lap312i
    on 5 March 2013

    i think it might be interesting

  22. TheMileLongBookshelfBlog
    on 4 March 2013

    This is a really interesting book, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

  23. lollypop61
    on 22 February 2013

    This book look interesting i have red part of this during school but i wish i had it home my teacher says she is bewilderd by it.

    5out of 5
  24. powerpush22
    on 19 February 2013

    This book is inspiring.

  25. fellow
    on 6 February 2013

    I loved that book.My favorite part was when his friend got hit by the eare

  26. Emster123
    on 11 January 2013

    I love this book soooo much and it was a joy to read well done Roald Dahl! This was such an amazing book to read because instead of reading a book which is obviously made up and not real, you can read about events that are real and you can see what happened in our favourite authors lives. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves autobiographies! Xx

  27. Dandy1
    on 29 September 2012

    It is ok ! It is funny in some parts.. but some of it is a bit grusome! Bascially not for me

  28. nandipa
    on 21 September 2012

    loved it cuse it so daring

    5out of 5
  29. Plipplop
    on 5 June 2012

    I loved it

    5out of 5
  30. mutemath4ever
    on 6 March 2012

    This is a really funny book about Roald Dahl as a boy. He was a bit of a trouble maker and laughed out loud at the part where he and some of his friends put a dead rat in a jar of gobstoppers so when the shop keeper – a horrible old woman – put her hand in the jar she got the fright of her life ! Great read, very funny ages 11+

  31. smileitsfriday
    on 5 March 2012

    Really funny! * * * though, because some parts were quite boring for me.

  32. migit1
    on 4 March 2012

    it was a little bit to old for me!!!

    it was great but maybe for 11-12 yrs!!

    his sister dies at one point!!

  33. 2533becky
    on 3 March 2012

    i loved this book man it was the best it tells you everythin you want to know

    5out of 5
  34. nikki657
    on 3 March 2012

    I remember reading this at school. I loved reading about Roald Dahl’s life as a child, and found myself laughing until I cried, or speechless with shock in different parts. I loved it when he talked about the wonderful sweet shops, and all the tricks he got up to as a child.

    4out of 5
  35. la1397
    on 2 March 2012

    I loved reading about Roald Dahl’s life as a child, and found myself laughing hysterically, or speechless with shock in different parts. I loved it when he talked about the wonderful sweet shops, and all the tricks he got up to as a child. Fantastic. :D

  36. Bookworm81
    on 1 March 2012

    The funniest chapter: Goat’s Tobacco, when reading it at school everyone laughed.

  37. angelslater
    on 1 March 2012

    i love this book as i liked finding out what roald was like in his childhood back in the olden days.

  38. poppearl
    on 23 January 2012

    I loved this book and I think it is a really interesting book to read!

    5out of 5
  39. LACY
    on 12 October 2011

    i loved this book man it was the best it tells you everythin you want to know

    5out of 5
  40. 88ilovebooks88
    on 17 August 2011

    brilliant book i recomend it

  41. csaville
    on 22 June 2011

    i am really enjoying this book

  42. misssupergirl123
    on 15 June 2011

    I really liked this bookit made me cry.

    5out of 5
  43. misskoolkat123
    on 9 June 2011

    I thought this book was everthing you want in a book. It had humour, despair and really funny times. This book was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5out of 5
  44. chatabox01373301482
    on 4 March 2011

    I love this book because it is full of roald dahl childhood facts

  45. MaxFlash
    on 3 March 2011

    This is a excellent book. It shows how life was not easy for Roald Dahl when he was growing up. There are some very sad bits (i’m glad my teachers are not that bad !) but theres lots of funny bits I wont tell you because you must read it. Sometimes I forgot this is a TRUE story which is why it is so funny and sad at the same time.

    5out of 5
  46. Lottie-books
    on 27 February 2011

    VERY, VERY, VERY good, as it was written by the world’s number 1 storyteller! And because it was unfortunately interesting, as Roald Dahl had such a hard life.

    5out of 5