It's the End of the World and I'm In My Bathing Suit by Justin A. Reynolds (author) (UK edition)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $10.45 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £6.80 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • More information about Scholastic Rewards

    Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.09 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

Product description

A hilarious new middle-grade from Justin A. Reynolds that asks: What happens when five unsupervised kids face the apocalypse under outrageously silly circumstances? Twelve-year-old Eddie Gordon Holloway has concocted his most genius plan ever to avoid chores . . . especially the dreaded L-A-U-N-D-R-Y. If he can wears every item of clothing in his wardrobe, summer will be halfway over before he has to do laundry! On the day of the highly anticipated Beach Bash, Eddie ends up grounded until he can get his clothes clean. While left home alone to do his laundry, the power goes out mid-cycle. With his first load of laundry soaking wet and the rest still filthy, Eddie sets out to explore the seemingly empty neighborhood in just his swim trunks and flip-flops. As he meets up with other neighborhood kids to find out what happened, they realize that their families aren’t coming back anytime soon. And as night falls, the crew realizes they aren’t just the only people left in the neighborhood – they might be the only people left . . . anywhere.

  • Funny, voice-driven middle-grade story
  • Features an all-Black “ensemble cast” of characters, written by a Black American author
  • Perfect for fans of Escape The Rooms by Stephen and Anita Mangan, The Summer I Robbed a Bank by David O’Doherty and The Day the Screens Went Blank by Danny Wallace

Reviews “A doomsday scenario is rendered surprisingly funny here . . . and so readers are given freedom to enjoy [Eddie’s] brilliant quips, his quirky friends, and this highly unusual day without dwelling on what comes after this trange, golden afternoon when kids ran the neighborhood.” – BCCB “With Reynolds’ signature witticisms and jump-off-the-page jokes….[this is] equal parts friendship story, coming of age, and comedic apocalypse, this will be a great red for reluctant readers and kids looking to take their summers into their own hands.” – Booklist “Matter-of-fact scenes with Eddie taking his ADHD medicine and talking through school and home pressures with Trey, their school’s all-star athlete, offer insightful representations of Black boys bonding.” – Kirkus

Product Details

Catalogue number

625 in ROW Primary January 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702316135

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

April 7th, 2022

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.6; Middle years; 8.0 points

Other details

  • 304 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought