Frankie's World #1: Frankie's World

by Aoife Dooley (author and illustrator)

Suitable for 11 - 14 years

Format
Paperback
usd prices
Price: $13.05 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £8.99 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.61 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

How do you fit in and stand out when you feel different to everyone around you?

“I loved Frankie’s story and could really identify with her character. This is such an amazing graphic novel that represents neurodiversity really realistically.” Libby Scott

“Aoife Dooley captures Frankie’s autistic experience with great care, humour and love.” Lizzie Huxley-Jones

“A fun and relatable read about awkwardness, self-acceptance, family and friendship.” Sarah McIntyre

“Unique and often funny … I cheered Frankie on through her journey.” Sue Cheung

Frankie knows she’s not like anyone else in her class: she’s different, but she can’t quite figure out why. Is it the new freckle on her nose, or the fact she’s small for her age? Or that she has to go to the hospital sometimes? Everyone else seems to think she’s weird too, and they make fun of her at school. Frankie’s dad left when she was a baby – maybe he was different too? It would explain why she always feels like an alien. So she and her best-friend Sam, embark on a mission to track him down.
  • A graphic novel offering a unique perspective on Autism, told with humour and heart.
  • Brought to life with glorious colour artwork in a distinctive blue and orange palette.
  • Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Our January 2022 Teen Book of the Month

My Teen Book of the Month for January is the brilliant Frankie’s World. 11-year-old Frankie feels like she can’t stop saying or doing the wrong thing. On top of that, she gets overwhelmed by loud noises, is scared of everything and constantly has to meet with the hospital or principal. She does her best to blend in with everyone else, but all she really wants is to be herself, and in order to do that she needs to know why she is the way she is. The way to find out? Track down the dad she’s never met, maybe he was different too. With the help of her friends – will Frankie finally feel like she can fit in?

Frankie’s World is the debut graphic novel from new talent Aoife Dooley. Her bright, fun illustrations in two-colour are engaging for kids and the graphic format perfect for reluctant readers. Based off her own experience, Aoife provides an authentic insight into what it’s like being autistic. A heart-warming story about friendship, family and standing out and fitting in when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Libby Scott and Elle McNicoll.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

8454 in Books and Resources for Secondary Schools Catalogue 2022

Series

Frankie's World (book 1)

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702307355

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

January 6th, 2022

Other details

  • 272 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought