We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your school is closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

This product is not for sale in United States.

Book of the Month

Suitable for 7 - 8 years

usd prices
Price: $16.95 Switch to £
gbp prices
Save £1.29
Offer price: £11.70 Switch to $
RRP: £12.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $3.39 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

A classic tale about an extraordinary and unlikely animal friendship. For fans of Paddington Bear and Wallace and Gromit.From Newbery Honor Author, Amy Timberlake and multi-award winning illustrator, Jon Klassen comes a beautiful tale of friendship for readers aged 7+. Meet Skunk and Badger. The first time Badger saw Skunk, he thought, ‘ puny ’ and shut the front door. There was simply too much slick in this Skunk’s stripe. Too much puff in his tail. Also, there’d been that grin, and the way he’d stuck out his paw as if he had been looking forward to meeting Badger. Badger knew what to make of that. He shut the door before the fellow got any ideas . . . But Skunk is Badger’s new roommate, and there is nothing Badger can do about it. When Skunk bursts into Badger’s life, everything Badger knows is upended. Tails are flipped. The wrong animal is sprayed. And why-oh-why are there so many chickens?

  • Skunk and Badger is a beautiful reminder that sometimes opposites are destined to be the best of friends. A book you’ll want to read again and again, beautifully illustrated throughout by Jon Klassen.

Our September 2020 Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

“Want to get swept up this autumn on a reading journey? If you’re looking for a book with hints of Winnie-the-Pooh meets Wallace and Gromit, this book fits the bill. Good as a satisfying read to yourself but also perfect if you are a parent looking for a book with a classic feel and real warmth to stimulate reading enjoyment. Written by award-winning American author Amy Timberlake, Skunk and Badger is told through a lightly comic story and interspersed with pictures by the inimitable Jon Klasson (illustrator of Pax).

Badger is set in his ways and likes order and routine. Skunk is laid back and a bit unconventional. On paper, they don’t mix! But as each begins to understand the ways of the other, they both learn precious lessons and grow to form an odd-couple relationship. It’s a tale of celebrating differences and appreciating that friendships comes from the most unexpected places, and in all shapes and sizes! If you are reading this aloud, get your child involved by asking what they think about the plot, the events and the characters. How does their relationship change, and why? A satisfying tale you can stretch across those autumn evenings!”

(Please note: American spellings used)

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

Product Details

Catalogue number

357 in ROW Primary September 2020

Series

Skunk and Badger (book 1)

Format

Hardback

ISBN

9781407199399

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

September 3rd, 2020

Other details
  • 144 pages
Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought