Kevin Brooks


Kevin Brooks, author of the young adult novels Martyn Pig, Lucas, Kissing the Rain, Candy, and The Road of The Dead, was born in 1959 and grew up in Exeter, Devon. After school, he moved to London and tried to become a rock star. The book he would most like to have written is Cannery Row by John Steinbeck. His most precious memory is of sitting on a wall when he was ten years old, wondering where thoughts go when you die. He decided that they float up into space and become fuel for the sun. His advice for aspiring authors? ‘Read as much as you can, and write what you want to write, not what you think other people want you to write. And don’t give up.’

You can find more about Kevin on his MySpace page and via Bebo at

Books by Kevin Brooks

Series by Kevin Brooks

Travis Delaney Investigates

Awards won by Kevin Brooks

Kevin Brooks’s won the 2014 Carnegie Medal for The Bunker Diaries. His other awards include the Branford Boase Award for Martyn Pig and the Angus Book Award for Candy.