Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 2 ratings

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

War. Adventure. Danger. A world in the grip of Hitler’s icy evil. A wintry tour de force from a true master. It’s 1940. A train is under attack from German fighter planes. Sheltering in the darkness of a railway tunnel, a stranger in a carriage tells Barney and his mum a story. And what a tale it is… The true story of one man who might have stopped World War II. A young soldier fighting in the First World War trenches, twenty years before. On the spur of the moment, he did what he thought was the right thing. It turned out to be the worst mistake of his life. Can he ever put things right?

  • The latest brilliant war novel by Michael Morpurgo
  • A must for fans of War Horse and Private Peaceful
  • Inspired by the true story of soldier Henry Tandey
  • A powerful story full of moral discussion points

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780007950218

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.2; Middle years; 3.0 points

Other details
  • 272 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Author/Illustrator

Michael Morpurgo

8025 morpurgo 206731

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Avatar bear 761721

    lavender123
    on 10 July 2017

    I really liked this book. Somebody recommended it to me so I tried reading it. It took me four attempts to actually finish it but I really liked.

  2. Lion 113522

    foreverdogs
    on 21 April 2016

    A very powerful story about war and trying to make the right decisions. READ THIS BOOK. I love this book. 😆

    5out of 5
  3. Ef castle thumb 2

    zoe256
    on 10 April 2016

    I really liked the book! It’s a powerful story about the war.

    4out of 5
  4. Evie 113313

    Selinda769
    on 7 April 2016

    I want to read this because it looks interesting

  5. Bellasara 113282

    micheal11
    on 17 February 2016

    I LIKE THE BOOK

    5out of 5