We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your school is closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

The Words That Fly Between Us

by Sarah Carroll (author) (UK edition)

Suitable for 11 - 14 years

usd prices
Price: $11.58 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.99 Switch to $
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets $2.32 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

A beautiful, powerful story about finding the strength and words to face your fears, from the author of The Girl in Between

Lucy’s father is a successful lawyer making a killing on the property market. She and her mother want for nothing. Nothing, that is, that can be bought. But money cannot buy Lucy the words she needs. The words to stand up to her bully of a father. The words to inspire her mother to do something about the family life that is suffocating them both. The words to become the person she wants to be.

Then Lucy finds something else: An escape route… Soon she discovers that every building on her row is connected, through the attic, to the next. As she explores the inner lives of those who live on her street, Lucy realises that she is not the only one to suffer in silence. She also sees ways she can help some, and ways to punish those that deserve it.

But as the mighty fall, Lucy is forced to realise that while she can affect the lives of others from the safety of the attic, she will need to climb down to face her own fears.

Praise for The Girl in Between:

‘Perfect for fans of David Almond and Katherine Rundell’ – The Guardian ‘A compelling and heart-breaking debut with an unexpecting twist, reminiscent of A Monster Calls’ – Glamour magazine ‘Pitch-perfect Dublin voice’ – Irish Times ‘The Girl in Between’grabbed me from the start and held on so tight it left bruises’ – Geraldine McCaughrean ‘In turns beautiful, devastating and ultimately uplifting, The Girl in Between demands re-reading’ – Zana Fraillon, author of The Bone Sparrow `Dark, sometimes profound, this is the kind of book that envelops readers in its world, sending them blinking into the light with the voice and images still ringing in their heads’ LoveReading4Kids.co.uk `A descriptive story that’s intriguing, emotionally engaging … with a twist at the end.’ The Book Bag

Product Details

Catalogue number

8281 in Secondary Rewards Catalogue 2019/20

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781471160646

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

Date published

May 2nd, 2019

Other details
  • 272 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought